Culture de cépages locaux ancestraux dans le Gers | Plaimont

Cultivating our origins

Winegrowers committed to their local area

This is the story of an ideal that gradually gained ground and has now revived an entire region: the idea of cultivating our origins.  Today, Gascony enjoys a reputation that extends beyond its borders and our wines receive regular plaudits from members of the wine trade.  At a time when human values and the values of the land are again becoming important, we are determined that, together, we will cultivate our know-how, which we wish to share with as wide a public as possible.

Above all, don’t create anything … simply observe, protect and bring out the best of an exceptional land. 

André Dubosc, founder of PLAIMONT

3 founding principles that we are close to our heart:

#1
Draw our inspiration from nature

#2
Be at one with our land

#3
Nurture our difference

#1
Draw our inspiration from nature

From the very beginning, we have focused on biodiversity by only growing the ancestral local grape varieties.

In each step of our work in the vineyards and in the winery, we prefer to use fair and natural practices that give us good quality grapes and a taste expression that reveal the riches of our terroirs.

A LIVING CONSERVATORY

In 2002, we created our own ampelographic conservatory and started to draw benefit from all our learning and work since the creation of Plaimont in 1978.  This “living library”, the first private conservatory in France, protects and showcases our oldest local grape varieties.

AN EXCEPTIONAL HERITAGE

We have the privilege of preserving a plot of extremely rare, pre-Phylloxera vines.  Superb examples of our appellations’ exceptional gene pool, our pre-Phylloxera vines are the only vines to be listed as a “Historical Monument” in France.

37 varieties

of high potential vines, some of which are unknown.

12 varieties

identified and recovered in order to create the wines of tomorrow.

A “Pre-Phylloxera vines” wine from a plot dating from 1871.

A plot of vines in Saint Mont was listed as a “Historical Monument” in 2012.

PROPHYLACTIC METHODS

We are cutting down on the use of phytosanitary inputs by carrying out careful applications using predictive models to assess the level of risk.

By growing the right plants between the rows of vines, we are reducing soil erosion and improving the vigour of our vines.

Today, all our red varietal plots have natural grass cover and the majority of our white varietal vineyards have winter plant cover acting as a green manure.

Our winegrowers share their expertise with each other in order improve their growing practices and their vineyard management.  This has included the introduction of pruning methods that better preserve the vine’s natural sap flow.  We therefore minimise pruning wounds on the vines and reduce the outbreaks of disease.

Volunteer winegrowers monitor the spread of any diseases and pests, thereby contributing to the quality of our vines and allowing us to treat the vines only when necessary.

Founded on common sense and our experience of the land, these prophylactic methods are used in all practices allowing us to prevent the outbreak, aggravation or spread of diseases and pests.

These methods reduce, and often eliminate, the need for corrective measures, such as chemical treatments, to be taken.

UNIQUE GRAPE VARIETIES

The Pyrenean foothills are a unique source of plant diversity due to the exceptional variety of vines growing there.

Grape varieties such as Tannat and Pinenc, Colombard, Gros and Petit Manseng now make up an integral part of our wines’ unique identity.

Plaimont’s rediscovery of the “Manseng Noir” and “Tardif” grape varieties is laying the ground for the future of winegrowing in an entire region.

#2
Be one with our land

People are at the heart of our business at Plaimont and their “well-being” is important to us.

Our activity has an impact on the entire Gers ecosystem, at the centre of which lie the development of local heritage, the promotion of cultural events and the support of economic growth.

 

A FABULOUS ARCHITECTURAL AND CULTURAL HERITAGE

We are committed to developing our region’s cultural heritage.

After a thousand years of existence, the Monastery of Saint-Mont is now writing a new chapter in its history.  A handful of our winegrowers, enamoured of the original vineyards, restored its           5 ha of vineyards in 1995, giving rise to one of the greatest wines from our terroir.

Now the property’s owner, Plaimont is restoring this remarkable site and intends to turn it into the region’s top wine tourism destination offering the very best in accommodation and dining.

12 Châteaux

have been preserved and the full potential of their vineyards brought out by our winegrowers.

IN THE SPOTLIGHT

We have been a sponsor of the “Jazz in Marciac” Festival for 40 years. The Plaimont winegrowers offer tastings of the finest wines from their terroir to nearly 250,000 jazz lovers from around the world.

LOCAL COLOUR

We organise or support around 20 cultural events in our local area throughout the year.

40 YEARS OF SOLIDARITY

To encourage good winegrowing practices, 50% of our winegrowers’ remuneration is tied to their practices in the vineyard.  The remainder is calculated according to the organoleptic quality of their grapes and the quantities brought into the cellars.

Committed to the development of our region, over the past 40 years we have supported dozens of young winegrowers in their projects to create or take over a vineyard holding,  providing them with training, advice or financial assistance.

We have built close partnerships with several educational institutions, including the “Lycée Viticole” (wine high school) in Riscle, where we help provide training and work experience for future winegrowers and technicians from across the region.

#3
Nurture our difference

The future of our local area is being built today.  Remaining true to our values, we look forward to the challenges that tomorrow will bring, determined to evolve our know-how and practices towards even more “authentic” vineyard management, aligned with our customers’ constantly higher demands for quality.

NOTHING IS LOST

Today, we are happy to be recycling 94% of our waste and are proud of our employees’ commitment to innovation and the reduction of our environmental footprint.

INCLUSION OF PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

We enjoy a special relationship with the Les Charmettes “Centre d’Aide par le Travail” (an integration through employment centre), from whom we contract teams to maintain our green spaces, carry out repackaging work, and to provide catering for our staff on the Saint-Mont site.

SHARED RESOURCES

In 2015, Plaimont was the first French cooperative to offer its employees shares in the business.

TREASURES OF YESTERDAY AND TOMORROW

In our ampelographic conservatory (the first privately-owned conservatory in France), we study the grape varieties of tomorrow.  At the heart of the conservatory are varieties of vines that have been rediscovered growing in old plots and which will create the future typicality of our wines thanks to their fit with the important changes we face today (demand for low alcohol content, adapting to climate change, etc.).

In keeping with the sterling work accomplished by Plaimont’s founders, our winegrowers and staff are committed to preserving biodiversity and the native grape varieties as the cultural foundations that make our local area unique.

This long-standing commitment and the attention we pay to everything that makes our local area so unique allow us to bring you wines from the south-west of France with noble origins which constitute our identity and our difference.

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies to make statistics of visits. Plus d’informations

Les paramètres des cookies sur ce site sont définis sur « accepter les cookies » pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation possible. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site sans changer vos paramètres de cookies ou si vous cliquez sur "Accepter" ci-dessous, vous consentez à cela.

Fermer

Culture de cépages locaux ancestraux dans le Gers | Plaimont

Cultivons nos origines

Des vignerons engagés pour leur territoire

C’est l’histoire d’un idéal qui a fait son chemin pour raviver tout un Territoire : celui de cultiver nos origines. Aujourd’hui, la Gascogne bénéficie d’une renommée au-delà des frontières et nos vins sont régulièrement salués par la profession. A l’heure où les valeurs humaines et de la terre n’ont jamais été autant plébiscitées, ensemble, nous cultivons passionnément notre savoir-faire et souhaitons le partager avec le plus grand nombre.

Surtout ne rien créer… simplement observer, protéger et mettre en valeur un territoire exceptionnel.

André Dubosc, fondateur de PLAIMONT

3 principes fondateurs que nous entretenons précieusement :

#1
S’inspirer de la nature

#2
Faire corps avec notre territoire

#3
Nourrir notre différence

#1
S’inspirer de la nature

Dès nos origines, nous avons fait le pari de la biodiversité en cultivant exclusivement des cépages locaux ancestraux.

A chaque étape de la conduite du vignoble et de l’élaboration du vin, nous privilégions des pratiques justes et naturelles permettant d’atteindre une qualité sanitaire et une expression de goût qui révèlent toutes les richesses de nos terroirs.

Conservatoire vivant

En 2002, nous avons créé notre propre conservatoire ampélographique et commencé à mettre en valeur nos observations et nos travaux engagés, dès la création de Plaimont, en 1978. Cette bibliothèque vivante, 1er conservatoire privé de France, protège et fait redécouvrir nos plus anciennes variétés locales.

Patrimoine d’exception

Nous avons le privilège de préserver une parcelle de vignes préphylloxériques d’une extrême rareté. Véritable symbole du patrimoine génétique exceptionnel de nos appellations, nos vignes préphylloxériques sont les seules à être inscrites au titre des Monuments historiques en France.

37 variétés
de vignes à grand potentiel, certaines inconnues.

12 cépages identifiés,
remis au goût du jour pour préparer les vins de demain.

Une cuvée « Vignes Préphylloxériques » issue d’une parcelle datant de 1871.

Une parcelle de vignes de Saint Mont a été inscrite aux Monuments Historiques en 2012.

Méthodes prophylactiques

Nous réduisons l’utilisation des intrants phytosanitaires en raisonnant leur application grâce à des modèles prédictifs capables d’évaluer le niveau de risque.

En cultivant dans les rangs de vigne des végétaux adaptés, nous réduisons l’érosion de nos sols et améliorons la vigueur de nos vignes.

Aujourd’hui, 100% de nos parcelles de rouges sont conduites en enherbement naturel, et une majorité de vignobles blancs disposent de couverts végétaux d’hiver agissant comme de véritables engrais verts.

Nos vignerons partagent leurs expériences pour améliorer nos pratiques culturales et la gestion du vignoble, à l’image l’introduction de systèmes de taille préservant mieux les flux de sève naturels de la plante. Nous limitons ainsi les plaies de taille sur les ceps de vigne et l’apparition des maladies.

Parmi nos vignerons, des bénévoles surveillent la propagation des maladies et des ravageurs, contribuant ainsi à la qualité de nos vignes et aux traitements raisonnés.

Basées sur le bon sens et l’expérience de la terre, les méthodes prophylactiques recouvrent l’ensemble des pratiques permettant de prévenir l’apparition, l’aggravation ou la propagation des maladies et des autres ravageurs.

Elles permettent de réduire, voire de supprimer, les mesures correctives comme les traitements chimiques.

Des cépages uniques

La diversité exceptionnelle de l’encépagement fait du piémont pyrénéen une ressource unique de diversité végétale.

Les cépages tels que les Tannat et Pinenc, Colombard, Gros et Petit Manseng font aujourd’hui partie intégrante de l’identité unique de nos vins.

La redécouverte par Plaimont des cépages « Manseng Noir » et « Tardif » prépare l’avenir viticole de toute une région.

#2
Faire Corps avec notre territoire

Chez nous, l’Homme est au cœur du dispositif et la dimension du ” bien-vivre ” revêt toute son importance.
Nos actions s’attachent à tout l’écosystème gersois, au centre duquel la valorisation du patrimoine, l’animation culturelle et l’aide au développement économique.

Un patrimoine bâti et culturel rayonnant

Nous portons une grande attention à la valorisation du patrimoine culturel notre région.

Riche de mille ans d’histoire, le Monastère de Saint-Mont écrit un nouveau chapitre. Épris du vignoble d’origine, une poignée de nos vignerons ont restauré les 5 ha de parcelles en 1995, donnant naissance à l’un des plus grands vins de notre terroir.

Désormais propriétaire des lieux, Plaimont réhabilite ce site remarquable, pour en faire le haut lieu oenotouristique de la région, autour d’une offre hôtelière et gastronomique emblématique.

12 châteaux

ont été préservés et leurs parcelles mises en valeur par nos vignerons.

Sous les projecteurs

Depuis 40 ans, partenaires historiques du Festival Jazz in Marciac, nos vignerons font découvrir en musique à près de 250 000 mélomanes du monde entier les joyaux de leur terroir.

Couleurs locales

Tout au long de l’année, c’est une vingtaine d’évènements culturels que nous aidons ou organisons sur l’ensemble de notre territoire.

40 ans de solidarité

Pour encourager les bonnes pratiques viticoles, la rémunération des vignerons dépend pour plus de 50 % des pratiques menées à la vigne. Le reste est calculé en fonction de la qualité organoleptique du raisin et de la quantité apportée aux chais.

Profondément engagés dans le développement de notre région, en 40 ans, nous avons accompagné plusieurs dizaines de jeunes vignerons dans leurs projets de création et de transmission, à travers des formations, du conseil ou des aides financières.

Nous avons développé des partenariats étroits avec plusieurs établissements d’enseignement, tel que le lycée viticole de Riscle, auprès duquel nous participons à la formation et à la mise en situation des futurs vignerons et des techniciens de toute une région.

#3
Nourrir notre différence

L’avenir de notre territoire se prépare aujourd’hui. Fidèles à nos valeurs, nous abordons les défis de demain avec sérénité, déterminés à faire évoluer notre savoir-faire et nos pratiques vers une conduite de la vigne encore plus authentique, en phase avec les exigences toujours plus qualitatives de nos clients.

Rien ne se perd

Aujourd’hui, nous sommes heureux de recycler 94% de nos déchets, et fiers de l’engagement constant de nos équipes pour innover et réduire notre empreinte écologique.

Soutenir l’insertion des personnes en situation de handicap

Nous entretenons des relations privilégiées avec le Centre d’Aide par le Travail (C.A.T) des Charmettes, auprès duquel nous sollicitons les équipes pour la gestion des espaces verts, le reconditionnement ou la préparation des repas des salariés du site de Saint-Mont

Richesses partagées

Plaimont a, en 2015, été la première coopérative française à permettre à ses salariés d’investir dans des parts sociales.

Trésors d’hier et de demain

C’est dans notre conservatoire ampélographique (1er conservatoire privé de France) que l’on étudie les cépages de demain. Au cœur de celui-ci, des variétés de vignes redécouvertes dans des vieilles parcelles portent la typicité à venir de nos vins grâce à leur adaptation aux grands changements qui se proposent à nous (faible richesse en alcool, adaptation aux changements climatiques…)

Dans la continuité de l’admirable travail accompli par les fondateurs de Plaimont, nos vignerons et nos équipes s’engagent dans le maintien de la biodiversité et des cépages autochtones comme des fondements culturels qui font la particularité de notre territoire.

Cet engagement de toujours et l’attention portée à tout ce qui fait notre terroir nous permet, chaque jour, de vous proposer les vins du sud-ouest aux grandes origines qui font notre identité et notre différence.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies pour réaliser des statistiques de visites. Plus d’informations

Les paramètres des cookies sur ce site sont définis sur « accepter les cookies » pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience de navigation possible. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site sans changer vos paramètres de cookies ou si vous cliquez sur "Accepter" ci-dessous, vous consentez à cela.

Fermer